Speaker Programme

Welcome to the GoSpaceWatch Speaker Programme. Our forthcoming Zoom Online meetings are listed here. We currently have one Zoom meeting per month usually on the third Wednesday of the month. (Subject to change).


2020

Wednesday 19th August:

Pete Williamson FRAS (Astronomer, Broadcaster): “The Art of Remote Observing: Social Distancing at its Best!” Tickets On Sale now. Click Here for details and Tickets.


Wednesday 16th September:

Melissa Thorpe (Head of Engagement, Spaceport Cornwall): “Spaceport Cornwall: Launching the UK Back into Space”. For more details click here.


Wednesday 7th October: GoSpaceWatch World Space Week Special

Dr Carly Howett: Assistant Director of the Department of Space Studies, Southwest Research Institute, Boulder, Colorado, USA: “Persephone Pluto System Orbiter and Kuiper Belt Explorer”

Our first International Speaker.


Wednesday 21st October:

Roger Hyman: “My Journey into Astro Photography”: For More Details click here.


Saturday 14th November: (National Astronomy Week)

GoSpaceWatch Mars Special. An evening special event featuring two authors celebrating the exploration of the planet Mars.

Note: Depending on Government Social Distancing rules, this may be a real life event at a public venue in the West Midlands but most likely become a Zoom video conference meeting.

In autumn 2020, Mars makes a close approach to Earth, and it won’t be as close again until 2035. National Astronomy Week will celebrate Mars and make sure that as many people as possible get a chance to see Mars through a telescope, and to find out about the exciting space missions to the planet. More details at www.astronomyweek.org.uk


Wednesday 2nd December:

“Myths and Legens of the Stars” by Valerie J. Calderbank BSc, MBCS, CEng, CITP, FRAS:



2021

Wednesday 6th January

Wednesday 17th February:

Howard L.G Parkin BSc. BEd. FRAS: Dark Skies Tourism


Wednesday 17th March:


Wednesday 21st April: