Speaker Programme

GoSpaceWatch Online Lectures currently take place on the first and third Wenesday of the month at 7:30 pm UK Time unless otherwise stated. All lectures cost £3.00 per participant and are open to all.


Wednesday 23rd June:

Ben Evans (Spaceflight Author): “An Experiemental Flying Machine“. Based on his forthcoming book of the same name, Ben talks about this historical and remarkably complicated flying machine of the American Space Programme.


Wednesday 7th July:

Igor Bobek, Croatia: The Mars Society


Wednesday 21st July:

Andy Briggs (Author, Broadcaster), Spain: “How to Photograph a Black Hole


Wednesday 4th August:

Andy McGarry


Wednesday 18th August

John Thatcher. “The James Webb Space Telescope and the MIRI instrument”.

John is a Chartered Engineer who worked in the space industry for over 30 years, including 10 years as Project Manager for the European Consortium responsible for the Mid-InfraRed Instrument (MIRI), one of the 4 science instruments on the James Webb Space Telescope.


Wednesday 1st September

Martin Lunn: “A Ramble Through the Solar System”


Wednesday 15th September

Katrin Raynor-Evans FRAS, FRGS “Exploring Astronomy and Space through Philately”


Wednesday 6th October (World Space Week Event)

Dr Cathy Olkin South West Research Institute, Boulder, Colorado, USA – The NASA Lucy Mission


Saturday 9th October (World Space Week Event)

Human Mars Habitat Analog Mission

A Saturday afternoon special meeting.


Wednesday 20th October

Alice Carruth, Public Relations Coordinator, Spaceport America


Wednesday 17th November

Lou Mayo: The Voyager Missions. Lou Mayo is a heliophysicist and science educator at NASA’s Goddard Spaceflight Center.


Wednesday 1st December

Paul Money: Wonders of the Solar System


Wednesday 19th January 2022

The European Extremely Large Telescope (E-ELT)


Wednesday 16th February

Dr Anna Mcleod (University of Durham): Extra Galactic Astronomy